You are here: Home Community Government


Local, Scottish, UK and European government bodies and their representatives

Local Government

Garelochhead and the Rosneath Peninsula come within the local government area of Argyll and Bute and form part part of the 'Lomond North' ward of that municipality. Historically local government was linked to Dunbartonshire and also between 1975 and 1995 to the now disbanded Strathclyde Regional Council. Since 1996, local government services have been provided through Argyll and Bute Council as a single tier system. Lomond North ward is represented by three councillors:

Councillor George Freeman

8 Upland Wynd Garelochhead,
t: 01436 810683
e: [email protected]

Councillor Danny Kelly
Woodlands East, Shore Road Kilcreggan, G84 0HQ
t: 01436 842160
e: [email protected]


Councillor William Petrie OBE JP - Provost
68 John Street, Helensburgh, G84 8XJ.
t: 01436 672333
f: 01436 678416
[email protected]


Scottish Government and Scottish Parliament

Jackie Baillie: Member of Scottish Parliament

(Lab - Dumbarton)
The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP
t: 0131 348 5905
e: [email protected]

Constituency contact details
125 College Street Dumbarton G82 1NH
t: 01389 734 214
f: 01389 761 498

UK Government and Westminster Parliament

Alan Reid: MP for Argyll & Bute
Tel: 01369 704840

European Parliament

The UK is divided into twelve regions. Each region has between three and ten MEPs and each MEP in a region represents each person living there. See the list of Scottish MEP's here.